Tell us about your criminal case.
Experienced Washington State criminal defense.
Auburn Negligent Driving Lawyer
All First and Second Degree Cases
Keep your insurance rates low!
Facing a Negligent Driving charge in Auburn, WA? Our criminal driving lawyers can help. Get help and straight answers fast. Free case evaluation.
No matter what degree you are facing, Negligent Driving is a serious offense which will raise your insurance rates and could result in jail and even a license suspension. It is important to immediately contact an attorney to discuss your options and begin the preparation for your defense.
Our criminal driving attorneys are ready to help you fight your Negligent Driving charge. We are experienced and aggressive defense lawyers who know how to properly investigate your case and apply the facts to Washington State criminal statues dealing with allegations of a person driving negligently.
We are available to provide you with a free consultation on your currently pending Auburn Negligent Driving case.
Negligent Driving comes in two different degrees, one of which is a criminal offense and the other is a serious traffic offense.
Negligent Driving 1° is a misdemeanor, which means the maximum penalty is 90 days of jail and a $1,000 fine. The actual costs can and often are more though due to court costs and assessments. The Prosecutor has to prove you were driving a motor vehicle in a way that was both negligent and also endangered or was likely to endanger any person or property. Additionally, they need to prove you were exhibiting the effects of having consumed alcohol or an illegal drug, or exhibiting the effects of having inhaled or ingested any chemical (legal or illegal), for its intoxicating or hallucinatory effects.
Negligent Driving 2°, on the other hand, is an infraction. However, it is the most serious infraction you can get. The prosecutor has to prove the exact same thing as a Negligent Driving 1° except without any alcohol or drugs being involved. There are two types of Negligent Driving 2° (often called a Neg 2°.) The basic Neg 2° simply has a $550 fine. This is higher than amounts listed in some places online. That is because the higher actual amount includes all of the other fees that the court system tacks on.
The second type of Neg 2° involves a vulnerable user victim. This is when the negligent driving was the proximate cause of a death, great bodily harm, or substantial bodily harm of a vulnerable person. A vulnerable person includes pedestrians, bicyclists, and motorcyclists, amongst others. If you are facing this type of charge, it is extremely important that you consult an attorney as soon as possible. Penalties can include a $5,000 fine and a 90 day license suspension.
If you are unsure as to what type of negligent driving charge you are facing, contact our office and we can discuss the matter with you.